Pushkin House Gets Ready for Its 10th Anniversary Book Prize

The Pushkin House Book Prize is going to be a bit different this year. Although the reward will, customarily, be awarded to the most effective book from or about Russia published in English or in English translation, this year judges will certainly consider books published not in one year, but from Jan. 1, 2021 to the end of June 2002.

As well as since it marks the 10th wedding anniversary of the prize, there may be various other events and advancements ahead.

The judges for this jubilee reward were introduced today in London.

They are:

Evgenia Arbugaeva, a digital photographer well-known partially for her photos of the Russian Artic. She is a National Geographic Society Storytelling Fellow and recipient of many awards, consisting of the ICP Infinity and also Leica Oskar Barnack honors.

Baroness Deborah Bull, a writer, broadcaster as well as cultural analyst who danced with The Royal Ballet for 20 years before becoming innovative supervisor at the Royal Opera House. She is a Crossbench Peer in the House of Lords as well as vice head of state (Communities as well as National Engagement) at King’s College London.

Archie Brown, Emeritus Professor of Politics at Oxford University and also the author of many books including “The Human Factor: Gorbachev, Reagan as well as Thatcher as well as completion of the Cold War,” which won the 2021 Pushkin House Book Prize.

Dmitry Glukhovsky, a multilingual writer as well as journalist that released articles in such media as “Novaya Gazeta” and “Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung.” He is author of the cult sci-fi series “Metro” and “Text,” both additionally in film versions.

Ekaterina Schulmann, an associate professor at the Moscow School of Social and also Economic Sciences and also an associate fellow at Chatham House. A famous commentator and also audio speaker, her writing includes “Not just a Rubber Stamp: Parliament as well as Lawmaking” with Ben Noble.

The Prize is supported by writer Douglas Smith– winner of the inaugural honor in 2013– as well as Stephanie Ellis-Smith, as well as the Polonsky Foundation. It was initiated to highlight, compensate and also encourage public understanding and also smart covering the Russian-speaking world.

After learning more than one hundred nominated books, the judges will reveal their list of six books during the summer season. The champion, who obtains a reward of ₤ 10,000, will be revealed at an event in the autumn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *